Breaking the cycle

Everyone has a tipping point. The point where they’ve had enough and things have to change or they’re going to lose it. Whether it’s with the kids, their spouse, their job or themselves – something, somewhere pushes you over the edge into action.

This is the story of MY tipping point with myself.

I am D O N E with fighting my weight. Both my parents are significantly overweight and face the whole host of health problems associated with carrying way too much weight for most of their lives. I’ve been yo-yoing with my own weight since I was a teenager (so for roughly the last 15 years) and have really struggled with it since my first bouncing boy came into my life 3 years ago. I never lost 20 pounds from him and then we were blessed with a second child just 8 weeks ago.

 

I am 5’5″ and currently 209 lbs.

And I am done with this shit.

 

I heard a quote once that “when the pain of the current situation is greater than the pain of change, that’s when you’ll be motivated to make those changes.” Well, friends, here I am. I’m done with not wearing the flirty skirts and dresses that I love because my thighs rub together. I’m done with not being able to buy short-sleeved blouses because my arms are too flabby to fit into them. I’m done with being embarrassed about my body. I’m DONE because I want to be active in my 60s. I’m done because I want to play soccer with my sons and race them to the playground. I’m done because I have enough to occupy my time and suck up my energy without worrying about this crap, so I’m going to change it. NOW.

 

You’re welcome to join me on my journey to finding the healthy, happy woman I know is lurking inside.

About Rebe

I am a mom. I am a wife, daughter, sister, friend. I have a wonderful family which I unfortunately don't live near...this blog will hopefully help keep us all connected! View all posts by Rebe

One response to “Breaking the cycle

  • Sarie

    You can do it Sister! I have faith in you! I know M&D weren’t the best role models for us, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be a great one for Marc and James! Please let me know how I can best support you on this endeavor! I think one of the main secrets is simply to move more. Does your office have a walking workstation that you can rent out or go use? Maybe you could ask about that! (FYI [in case you don’t know] its a treadmill with a computer stand and such and makes losing weight/staying active while at work much easier!)
    I’ve also heard that Jillian Michaels’ 30 day shred video is pretty good and that bc it is good that she is a total bitch. 😀 I love you sister and know you can do ANYTHING you put your mind to-cause you are TOTALLY type-a!

Leave a Reply

